HomeHargroves Cycles RTIan Field 23rd at Koppenbergcross – Race Report

Ian Field 23rd at Koppenbergcross – Race Report

Ian Field finished 23rd at the infamous Koppenbergcross.

The Koppenberg is an absolutely iconic race held every year on the 1st November. Sven Nys described it yesterday as his tour of Flanders, that’s what it means to every true Cross rider out there. Being so close to where I live in Belgium makes it even more special, the fact many Brits have decided year on year to come over to watch the event really adds more for me on another level as the support for me here is one of the best events of the year. It seemed almost all the way round the course there was the odd British shout for me.

The support was very much needed with heavy rain in the previous few weeks leading up to the event left the already savage course really tough. It’s almost as hard getting back down the hill in those conditions as it is dragging body and machine to the top every lap. I got a distinctly average start but managed to work from this on such a selective course, I was battling for a top 20 position against high quality riders which is where I want to be. I was on for that top 20 finish when with just 1 lap remaining and closing in on riders ahead I punctured just before the finish line. This left me riding a flat all the way along the road up the infamous cobbled climb and desperately trying to not lose time on the off camber descents.

I lost 4 spots in total and I hate to think how much time. I got a fresh bike at the top pit and made the descent of my life I made up 3 spots and nearly got back to the position I had fallen from. I finished the race knowing I had ridden well but the finishing position didn’t suggest this. I’m just waiting for a bit of lady luck at the start of a race and I promise you I will grab the opportunity with both hands and get a result I am proud of…

[nggallery id=9]

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL 1:00:31
2 Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus 0:00:14
3 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:01:04
4 Aurilien Duval (Fra) UV Aube 0:01:15
5 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet – Fidea 0:01:22
6 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet – Fidea 0:01:25
7 Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cyclocross Team 0:01:29
8 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team 0:01:31
9 Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA Drink Cyclocross Team 0:01:49
10 Twan van den Brand (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team 0:02:10
11 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:02:27
12 Simon Zahner (Swi) EKZ Racing Team 0:03:21
13 Joeri Adams (Bel) Telenet – Fidea 0:03:39
14 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP – Powerplus 0:03:47
15 Marcel Meisen (Ger) BKCP – Powerplus 0:03:54
16 Thijs Al (Ned) Telenet – Fidea 0:03:58
17 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Style & Concept 0:03:59
18 Jonathan Page (USA)
19 Lubomir Petrus (Cze) BKCP – Powerplus 0:04:09
20 Enrico Franzoi (Ita) Selle Italia-Guerciotti-Elite 0:04:36
21 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco 0:05:16
22 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP – Powerplus 0:05:31
23 Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves Cycles-Specialized 0:05:35
24 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Revor 0:05:52
25 Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Cyclingteam De Rijke-Shanks 0:06:13
26 Bart Hofman (Bel) Afdeling Oost-Vlaanderen WBV-VZW 0:06:22
27 Tom Van Den Bosch (Bel) Hargroves Cycles-Specialized 0:06:37
28 Kevin Cant (Bel) 0:06:53
29 Robby Cobbaert (Bel) 0:07:34
30 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Style & Concept 0:08:37
31 Yu Takenouchi (Jpn)
32 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL
33 Gianni Denolf (Bel)
34 Eddy van IJzendoorn (Ned) 36Cycling
35 Alexander Revell (NZl)
DNF Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet – Fidea
DNF Radomir Simunek (Cze) BKCP – Powerplus
DNF Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-KDL
DNF Arnaud Jouffroy (Fra) Telenet – Fidea
DNF Gerben de Knegt (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team
Previous post
Tabor World Cup RD1 race report - Ian Field
Next post
Superprestige Round 2 Zonhoven - Ian Field finishes 21st

No Comment

Leave a reply