HomeHargroves Cycles RTIan Field Wins Fourth Consecutive National Championship

Ian Field Wins Fourth Consecutive National Championship

Ian Field Wins Fourth Consecutive National Championship

Ian Field Wins Fourth Consecutive National Championship

Abergavenny played host to the 2015 national cyclocross championship, and the pressure was on for Ian Field to continue his unbeaten form.The three time defending champion sat back early in the race to survey the field, while Steve James led the pack. Ian showed why he has come to dominate the discipline, with a confident and professional race. Ian held back waiting for his competitors to tire and make mistakes and then picked his moment and capitalized on a lapse of judgement from another rider to take the lead. Jody then sat back in the group lettingothers do the work while Ian worked to build up a strong gap and take a convincing win and keep his winning streak going. Unfortunately for Jody a puncture lost him second place but he valiantly fought back to Fourth place by the chequered flag. Steve James came home in 8th place after a strong start meaning Hargroves Cycles RT won the Elite team prize.

Ian Field – photo Larry Hickmott

The under 16 category saw Harry Yates finish an impressive third with another solid performance on a course that didn’t suit his style he showed a mature attitude to cap off a great first season riding for team red. In the under 14’s Ben Tulett suffered a costly mechanical at the worst point on the course causing him to drop from first place. Ben recovered well ending the race in fifth place.

Harry Yates

In the veterans races Steve Davies finished in 4th place in the over 50’s race. Malcolm Cross finished in 9th place in the V55 race with Martin Eadon 10th. Crispin Doyle finished 9th in the Vet 40.

Ruby Miller

The Hargroves team had a fabulous weekend winning not only the overall best elite team title but also that of best overall team which incorporates every race across the weekend. It’s been another amazing year for the Hargroves team and we would like to take the opportunity to thank all of our riders and our sponsors. Thank you for a great year and let’s make next year even better!

Hargroves RT – photo Larry Hickmott

Previous post
Ian Field Wins Fourth Consecutive National Championship
Next post
World Cyclocross Championship - Tabor

No Comment

Leave a reply